Agra to host Tata Motors 2nd Traditional Mud wrestling national championships

By   - 12/12/2019

The Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) has announced Agra as the host of Tata Motors 2nd Traditional Senior Men’s Freestyle National Wrestling Championships. The traditional wrestling which is the national championship of mud-wrestling is scheduled for 28th and 29th December in the city of Taj. Pune hosted the inaugural edition of the mud-wrestling nationals last year.

According to the WFI, the mud-competition will be played over 6 weight categories in the freestyle category. On the first day competitions are scheduled in 57, 86, & 97kg weight categories. The second and final day on 29th December will witness wrestlers in 65, 74 and 125kg competing against each other for the Traditional wrestling national title.
Rules of Traditional Wrestling National Championships
Unlike the dangals, the Traditional Wrestling Nationals will follow the same set of rules that is followed on mat for the freestyle category.
– Unlike in dangals where the winner of a bout is decided only by pinfall, the Nationals will follow point system like the freestyle and the the technical superiority will be a difference of 15 points.
– The bouts will be fought over two periods of four minute each.
– A wrestler is not allowed to hold his opponent’s langot (lioncloth).
This means, the competition will have similar rules like freestyle wrestling, with only the mat has been replaced with mud.
WFI is expecting like in the first edition where top class mat wrestlers especially from Services and Railways competed in the inaugural edition, the Tata Motors 2nd Traditional Senior Men’s Freestyle National Wrestling Championship will also witness some top names competing for the national titles.  Vinod Kumar (SSCB), Naveen (Railways), Satyawart Kadian (Railways), Sumit Malik (Railways) and Sachin Rathi (SSCB), Suraj Kokate (Mah) Sonba Gongaje (Mah) were the star wrestlers in the last year line-up, WFI is expecting the 2nd edition will witness some more bigger names this time.

Include Page

Leave a Comment