European Wrestling 2020 Rome : Russia drops world champions Uguev, Rashidov, Sidakov from the freestyle squad at the last minute

By   - 05/02/2020

The Russian Wrestling Federation has taken some of the sheen from the European Wrestling Championships beginning in Rome from 10th February by resting some of the top names in the freestyle category. In a surprising move, Russia has decided to rest current world champions Zavur Uguev (57kg), Gadzhimurad Rashidov (65kg) and Zaurbek Sidakov (74kg) from their freestyle squad. What was more surprising was that the world body of wrestling UWW only yesterday had released the list of entries for the European Championships and it had names of Uguev, Rashidov and Sidakov in the respective categories.
According to final list published by official platform of Russian Wrestling, instead of world no 1 Zavur Uguev in 57kg category – Russia will field Azamat Tuskayev. In the 65kg instead of Rashidov, recently crowned champion at Ivan Yarygin Kurban Shiraev has been included in the team. In 74kg double world champion Sidakov will not be seen in action and his place has gone to Magomedrasul Gazimagomedov who won 2015 and 2018 world championships gold.
Return of Abdulrashid Sadulaev
The only good news for the global followers of wrestling is that unlike his other world champion team mates, Abdulrashid Sadulaev has been included in the team. The Russian federation has announced that the national freestyle wrestling team in Rome will be led by Olympic champion, four-time world and European champion Abdulrashid Sadulaev. In addition to him, all the winners of the “Grand Prix Ivan Yarygin 2020” are included in the Russian squad.
February 10-16, Rome, Italy.
Freestyle wrestling. European Championship 2020.
The composition of the Russian team.
Up to 57 kg. Azamat Tuskayev.
Up to 61 kg. Alexander Bogomoev is the winner of the European Games 2015.
Up to 65 kg. Kurban Shiraev.
Up to 70 kg. Israil Kasumov – prize-winner of the European Championships (2016, 2017).
Up to 74 kg. Magomedrasul Gazimagomedov – two-time world champion (2015, 2018), winner of the European Games 2015.
Up to 79 kg. Magomed Ramazanov.
Up to 86 kg. Arthur Naifonov – European Champion 2018, winner of the World Cup (2019).
Up to 92 kg. Batyrbek Tsakulov.
Up to 97 kg. Abdulrashid Sadulayev – 2016 Olympic champion, four-time world champion (2014, 2015, 2018, 2019), four-time European champion (2014, 2015, 2018, 2019).
Up to 125 kg. Baldan Tsyzypov.

Include Page

Leave a Comment